Recommend a Pc for me?

Discussion in 'Technology' started by L.A.D, Sep 2, 2011.

1. Hi guys, I'm off to uni in a couple of weeks and I don't have a computer just a crappy Toshiba laptop ive been using since 2007.
    Unfortunately I'm pretty crap at buying stuff like this, so I was hoping the more knowledgeable souls among you, could recommend a decent PC for me.

Obviously being a student the most Important thing is price, so don't be posting any Alien-ware Computers or £1000 apple gimmick computers I would say around £400 ($750-800)would be my limit although I could possibly stretch that slightly if someone see's something mind blowing-ly good.

2. I don't know how it is in the UK, but in the US, sandy bridge core i3 laptops are easily in the $500. sometimes you can find big sales and get sandy bridge core i5 laptops at the same price.

Truthfully, for someone like you, I wouldn't even recommend something like that. Get a netbook.

3. That's about $800 USD I guess?

Just got a Lenovo Thinkpad T-Series T420 with a Sandy Bridge i5 for my aunt for that price to replace her crappy Toshiba that died.

http://shop.lenovo.com/SEUILibrary/controller/e/web/LenovoPortal/en_US/catalog.workflow:category.details?current-catalog-id=12F0696583E04D86B9B79B0FEC01C087&current-category-id=19C791A03AF24034A0011B825513BCED

The Thinkpad T-Series are some of the best notebooks you'll find.

The best advice I can give you is don't buy anything consumer grade. The build quality is terrible. Get a laptop that's made for enterprise.

4. Here is a cheap laptop good enough for web browsing, word processing, and casual 2D games. £279.97

http://www.currys.co.uk/gbuk/acer-aspire-5336-15-6-laptop-black-10945110-pdt.html?srcid=369&xtor=AL-1

i3 Packard Bell (still around???) for £379.00

http://www.currys.co.uk/gbuk/packard-bell-ts13-hr-034-15-6-laptop-red-10783808-pdt.html